“EO” by Jerzy Skolimowski wins jury prize at Cannes

On Saturday, Jerzy Skolimowski's “EO” (PL version: IO) and Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix van Groeningen’s “The Eight Mountains” received the jury prize ex aequo during the closing ceremony of the 75th Cannes Film Festival.

Prof. Piotr Gliński, Poland’s deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Culture and National Heritage, congratulated the Polish laureate on social media on Saturday evening.

“EO” refers to the film “Fortune, Balthazar!” by Robert Bresson, considered a classic of French cinema. The title character is a donkey which performs in a circus with a young artist called Kasandra (Sandra Drzymalska). The girl takes care of the animal which gives her unconditional love in return. When after a demonstration by the opponents of animal abuse the bailiffs enter the circus, the two have to separate. The donkey ends up in a stable and later changes owners several times.

The co-screenwriter and co-producer of the film was Ewa Piaskowska with Michał Dymek responsible for the cinematography (parts of the movie were shot by Michał Englert and Paweł Edelman), Paweł Mykietyn for the music, and Agnieszka Glińska for the editing. The picture’s distributor in Poland was Gutek Film. The Palme d’Or of the 75th Cannes Film Festival went to Ruben Östlund’s “Triangle of Sadness.” The laureates of the main competition were selected by a jury composed of French actor Vincent Lindon (chairman), British actress Rebecca Hall, Indian actress Deepika Padukone, Swedish actress Noomi Rapace, Italian actress and director Jasmine Trinca, as well as Iranian director, screenwriter and producer Asghar Farhadi, French director, screenwriter and actor Ladj Ly, American director and screenwriter Jeff Nichols and Norwegian director and screenwriter Joachim Trier.