Football: Russia banned from all major European competitions

The Russian national team and the country’s clubs have been banned from all European football competitions next season. This comes after the decisions taken on February 28, shortly after the military aggression against Ukraine, European football’s governing body said on Monday.

UEFA also ruled Russia’s bid to host the men’s Euros in 2028 and 2032 ineligible. This means Britain and Ireland’s joint bid to host Euro 2028 is rivalled only by Turkey, who also declared an interest in hosting the 2032 tournament.

The governing body said Russia’s bid was ineligible because of current regulations, which state that each bidder shall ensure that it does not act in a manner that could discredit UEFA or any other bidder.

Additionally, Russian clubs will not compete in UEFA's Champions League, Europa League and Europa Conference League next season.

Consequently, the winner of the Scottish Premiership will take the place of Russian champions Zenit St Petersburg in the 2022-23 Champions League group stage.

FIFA, UEFA suspend Russia from official football competitions

see more

All out ban

UEFA and world governing body FIFA suspended Russian clubs and national teams from their competitions until further notice after the invasion of Ukraine.

As a result of the sanctions, German club RB Leipzig advanced to this season’s Europa League quarter-finals at the expense of Russian side Spartak Moscow.

In March, the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) rejected a request from Russia’s Football Association (FUR) to freeze FIFA’s suspension, effectively ending its hopes of competing at the World Cup in Qatar, before the FUR withdrew its appeal.

Several national football associations announced they would not play against Russia in the wake of its invasion of Ukraine, including those of Poland, Sweden and the Czech Republic.

Women’s football similarly aligned

At the upcoming Women’s European Championship Portugal will replace Russia for the tournament in England taking place July 6-31. The Portuguese lost to the Russians in the qualifying play-offs. Portugal will join the Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland in Group C, Reuters reported.