Acclaimed Polish actress Katarzyna Łaniewska dies at 87

"A wonderful lady, (...) A great, liked actress", President Andrzej Duda wrote on Twitter about the deceased Katarzyna Łaniewska. "Dear Mrs. Katarzyna, we will miss you", he added. Krzysztof Szuster, the director of the Association of Polish Stage Artists (ZASP), informed the public about her death on Monday.

"I will remember her from the monthly masses dedicated to the Smolensk air disaster, where Katarzyna Łaniewska recited the most beautiful stanzas of Polish poetry. She was recovering it for us," said Polish Minister of Culture and National Heritage Piotr Gliński about the deceased Katarzyna Łaniewska.

He also emphasised that she could not be forgotten. "The viewers will not allow us to do that. She was liked and appreciated by everyone. We will certainly remember her civic attitude and kindness towards others. She was a good and warm person. (...) A citizen, actress, patriot. We owe her a lot. We loved her while she was alive, we will love her after she left," he added.

She was born on June 20, 1933 in Łódź. In 1955, she graduated from the State Theatre School in Warsaw. She played several dozen film and theatre roles and was known to a wide audience, among others, from the series "Presbytery (Plebania)", "Forty-Year-Old Man (Czterdziestolatek)" and "Thick One (Gruby)". On the big screen she could be seen in Filip Bajon's "Early Spring (Przedwiośnie)", "Botch-up (Kogel-mogel)" by Roman Załuski and "Interrogation (Przesłuchanie)" by Ryszard Bugajski.

The actress won many awards and distinctions. In 2006, for her contribution to Polish culture, she received the Gold Medal "For Merit to Culture Gloria Artis", and a year later - the Commander's Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta for "outstanding services in the activities for democratic changes in Poland, involvement in the fight for freedom of speech and free media and achievements in professional and social work undertaken for the benefit of the country". Less than two weeks ago, the artist won the annual Award of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage for lifetime achievements.