New government sworn in

The swearing-in ceremony of the new ministers in the cabinet of the PM Mateusz Morawiecki took place on Tuesday. Przemysław Czarnek, who became the new minister of education and science, was absent due to him being infected with COVID-19.

During the ceremony in the gardens of the Presidential Palace in Warsaw, the president handed over nominations to the new ministers.

Thus, the new Polish government is composed of: PM Mateusz Morawiecki, the deputy PM Jarosław Kaczyński, the Culture Minister Piotr Gliński, the State Assets Minister Jacek Sasin, the Development Minister Jarosław Gowin, the Education Minister Przemysław Czarnek, the Environment Minister Michał Kurtyka, the Agriculture Minister Grzegorz Puda, the Infrastructure Minister Andrzej Adamczyk, the Defence Minister Mariusz Błaszczak, the Interior Minister Mariusz Kamiński, the Foreign Minister Zbigniew Rau, the Finance Minister Tadeusz Kościński, the Family Minister Marlena Maląg, the Health Minister Adam Niedzielski and the Justice Minister Zbigniew Ziobro.

The number of ministries has been reduced to 14. Law and Justice, the major party in the ruling coalition, received 12 ministries, while Solidarity Poland and the Agreement took one apiece. Two new central offices were also established: the Government Sports Centre and the Main Maritime Office.

According to Mateusz Morawiecki, the reconstruction of the government will increase its efficiency, reduce bureaucracy and speed up administrative processes. These changes are also expected to pull the domestic economy out of the crisis caused by the pandemic more quickly.