New government receives vote of confidence

The Polish government, lead by the Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki received a vote of confidence from the lower house of the Polish parliament on Tuesday evening.

Analysis: PM Morawiecki delivers his vision

Mateusz Morawiecki, the Prime Minister, delivered a clear and optimistic vision of the future of the country under his and his party’s government.

see more

A total of 237 MPs gave their vote of confidence for the government. The votes were made up from 235 members of the parliamentary caucus of Law and Justice (PiS) party, along with two politicians from Civic Coalition (KO), Gabriela Lenartowicz and Marek Hok.

Both of the KO MPs who voted in favour of the government claim they voted the other way. They blame a malfunction in the voting system for counting their votes as “for”.

The vast majority of KO caucus (127 MPs) voted against the vote of confidence, one abstained and two did not vote at all.

A total of 27 MPs from the Polish People’s Party and Kukiz’15 group were also against the government, one abstained and two did not take part in the vote.

All of the MPs from Confederation voted against the vote of confidence, as did nearly all politicians of the Left, apart from two who did not vote.

The only MP from the German Minority, Ryszard Galla, abstained.

Earlier on Tuesday, PM Morawiecki gave a speech regarding the key issues of the government’s agenda for the new term of the parliament.