‘Warsaw declaration’ signed at EU extension anniversary summit

The “Together for Europe - High level Summit” gathering of leaders of the 10 countries that joined the EU in 2004 as well as Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania, took place in Warsaw.

Summit celebrating Poland’s 15 years in EU commences in Warsaw

see more

The participants of the event signed the “Warsaw declaration” saying that governments of all EU countries have to be involved in the decision-making procedures of the Union. It was also stated that the “achievements of the EU should be protected” and the same approach should be used for all Member States of the Union.

The document also expresses the opinion that the integration of the Western Balkans with the EU “should be considered as a process strengthening Europe” and has to remain a strategic political purpose of the Union.

“I really appreciate the event in Warsaw. I am sure that the substantial dialogue and the common declaration signed in Europe will be an important pillar in building the future of the EU,” Viorica Dăncilă, the PM of Romania said after the meeting.

He emphasised that the EU rule of subsidiary ought to be restored. “We, as the one voice of Central Europe, point out that the EU rule of subsidiarity should not be violated, but restored to its full application,” the PM stressed.

He stressed that this rule means the situation when all Member States of the EU should have the liberty to decide in which fields solving problems is more suitable on the level of states, not the whole Union.

“Where possible, the EU should leave Member States to their competences,” the PM said.

President addresses Polish citizens on 15th anniversary of joining EU

see more

Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki said at a conference summarising the event that “the debate was extremely fruitful, very frank, rich in content and very interesting.”

Mr Morawiecki also pointed out that the issue of the VAT loophole in the EU was discussed during the summit. “This loophole in the whole EU is around EUR 150 bln plus tax havens using the CIT loophole,” he said. In his opinion, “Central European countries are being deprived of taxes by tax havens from Western Europe.”

The Polish PM also stressed that the participants at the summit expressed their gratitude for the Solidarity trade union as, “our great movement, a symbol of independence that led to the fall of communism and to the start of great changes in 1989.”

Mr Morawiecki also referred to his recent publication in “Politico”, where he presented his own ideas for reforming the EU. He said that “in this manifesto there are many ideas... which will be accepted by the leaders of Western Europe.”

The summit was organised on the 15th anniversary of the EU expansion from 2004, when 10 countries: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia joined the EU. Bulgaria and Romania were accepted in 2007 and Croatia – in 2013.

In addition to the Polish PM, the summit was attended by the heads of governments of Bulgaria - Boyko Borissov, Croatia - Andrej Plenković, the Czech Republic - Andrej Babiš, Estonia - Jüri Ratas, Lithuania - Saulius Skvernelis, Malta - Joseph Muscat, Romania - Viorica Dăncilă and Hungary - Viktor Orbán, among other high-level guests.